S A Schools Closed Squash Championships

Parkview Squash Centre, Johannesburg

150 of South Africa’s most promising junior squash players between the ages of 13 and 19 will be seen in action at the Parkview Squash Centre, Johannesburg this weekend when the S A Schools Closed Squash Championships will be played.  Together with the Bloemfontein Open and the age-group Inter Provincials in July, the event forms part of the criteria for a top 10 ranking and S A Schools selection.

Northerns’ Callan Hall, a learner at Crawford College and St Mary’s, Waverley Panashe Sithole winners of the respective boys’ and girls’ under 19 titles at the Bloemfontein Open two weeks ago, head the under 19 seedings.

The under 16 seedings are headed by Mikael Clayton (N) and Danell Douglas (EP) while under 14 is topped by Dean Venter (EP) and Jordyn Campbell (WP).

Play for the boys starts this (Friday) evening with the girls taking to the courts on Saturday morning. The finals will be played on Monday morning.

Seedings: Boys : Under 19: 1 Callan Hall (N), 2 Wayne Sithole (CG), 3 John Kuhn (FS), 4 Makhosonke Ntuli (CG)

Under 16 : 1 Mikael Clayton (N), 2 Amukelani Zitha (CG), 3 Gerard Mitchell (EP), 4 Siphelele Mpini (EP)

Under 14 : 1 Dean Venter (E), Joshua van der Wath (CG), 3 Tristen Worth (Bor), 4 Jacques Duminy (WP)

Girls : Under 19: 1 Panashe Sithole (CG), 2 Noel Lee (KZN), 3 Jennifer Preece (NC), 4 Kescia Scorgie (NFS)

Under 16: 1 Danell Douglas (EP), 2 Teagen Roux (Bor), 3 Helena Coetzee (N), 4 Charlotta Loggenberg (NW)

Under 14 : 1 Jordyn Campbell (WP), 2 Ingrid Kruger (FS), 3 Valme Webster (N), 4 Kirsty Lyons (Bor)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *