Finals S A National Squash Championships

Wanderers Club, Johannesburg.

Shaun Le Roux de thrones Steve Coppinger to take his 1st National Squash Title. In the 1st game both players played long hard rallies waiting for the other to make the error. Le Roux was eventually a little impatient and towards the end of the game made a few unnecessary errors. Le Roux played a  very disciplined game in the second, hitting the ball to a good deep length and going for very few winners. Coppinger made all the mistakes and allowed Le Roux the opportunity to level the match at 1-1. Le Roux’s excellent retrieval of the ball and athleticism forced Coppinger to go for risky shots that did not pay off. Le Roux managed to keep his head and took the 3rd to go 2-1 up. Le Roux kept up the pressure and made the rallies long and hard. Both players played very disciplined squash but in the end Le Roux was just too steady and Coppinger made more errors. Le Roux stated that this was the win of his career and he looked forward to winning a few more titles on the World Professional Squash Tour.

Siyoli Waters  the number 1 seed from Cape Town retained her National title by defeating Milnay Louw  3-1. Louw was very nervous in the 1st game and made a lot of unforced errors.  Waters was very focused in the second and played the ball to a good tight length forcing Louw to make the errors. In the 3rd the tables turned and it was Louw’s turn to hit the ball deep and to a better length. With her nerves settling she took control of the 3rd game but Waters fought back to eventually lose 10-12. Waters was determined to re focus and not let the game run away like in the semi’s. The first couple of rallies she played steady  constructive squash forcing Louw to go for the winners and making errors.

Men’s Final  Results:

S Le Roux (WP) bt S Coppinger 3-1, 5/11, 11/3, 11/8, 11/8 (47mins).

Ladies Final Results:

S Waters (WP) bt M Louw (N) 3-1, 11/5, 11/8, 10/12, 11/7 (32mins),

Other Results :


¾ Playoff

T Mohohlo (Gau) bt G Naidoo (KZN) 3-2, 11/9, 11/8, 7/11, 11/13, 11/7

1st Round Plate Final

D Groenewald (EG) bt J Carter 3-1, 11/9, 11/4, 6/11, 12/10 (48mins)

Qualifying 2nd Round Plate Final

P Beukes (Gau) bt R Sinyandiwo (Gau) 3-1, 12/14, 11/3, 11/7, 11/4 (39mins)

Qualifying 1st Round Consolation Plate Final

R Nkoaya (Gau) bt P Nhlanga (Gau) 3-2, 11/5, 11/13, 11/7, 6/11, 11/3 (35mins)


¾ Playoff

A Fuller (WP) walk over E Landman (Gau) injured

 5-8 Playoff

A Pienaar (SACD) bt L Landman (Gau) 3-2, 11/9, 11/9, 9/11, 10/12, 11/9 (53 mins)

2nd Round Plate Final

M Kohne (SACD) bt J Harmse 3-1, 11/8, 9/11, 11/9, 11/9

1st Round Plate Final

A Snyman (EG) bt J Dawson (N)  3-0, 11/6, 19/17, 11/7 (21mins).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *